ECU Added Timing As A Result Of Low IAT2 Temps??

throttle jockey

Stock Block 11 Sec. Club
Established Member
Does the ECU add timing when the charge temps/IAT2 temps get below a certain temperature?

In a recent post a member stated that in the OEM tune the ECU adds timing for charge temps below 105*. I've never heard this before. Can someone verify this for me? If this is correct, how is timing added by the ECU? Is this a parameter that can be adjusted in the tune? If so, do most tuners adjust this parameter?

Here's the post that peaked my curiosity about this:
The National Lightning Owners Club Inc - View Single Post - Stock bottom ends FTMFL!!!

I'm a fairly conservative driver, especially in cooler temps. I have a cold weather/91 octane tune intended for 50* ambient temps or less but I really have no need for the tune since I generally avoid going WOT in temps lower than 60-65*. I refuse to go WOT in anything less than 50* ambient.

I've been trying the past couple of weeks to hit the track in the cool winter temps hoping they will aid me in getting into the 11s, but I've decided to pass on racing each time since ambient temps have been in the low-to-mid 50s or lower. My race tune has 16* of timing running 104 octane. With my use of the Killer Chiller greatly reducing charge temps in conjunction with the cool winter temps I suspect (at least early in the pass) that my IAT2 temps will be below 105*. I just don't want my timing to get too aggressive in the event the ECU does in fact add timing when IAT2 temps are below 105*.

throttle jockey

Stock Block 11 Sec. Club
Established Member
For anyone interested here's a thorough explaination from a member on one of the other forums: