first time to track with et streets, need some advice..

svtguy22

Established Member
Basically, I dont want to break anything.

I am running 26" ET streets

462hp/452tq
irs brace
H&R race springs
stock clutch with 53k miles :dw:

But anyway, I have already gotten some good tips on the burnout part.. 2nd gear etc etc.

But does anyone have any more good advice on doing the burnout and launching keeping in mind i dont wanna blow up my drivetrain? launch rpm, feathering the stock clutch etc.

the IRS scares me, i miss my solid in my 96 :(

thanks in advance

edit: the clutch still holds strong and has no indication of going out. and what times should i be running in the 1/8th with this setup

Last edited:

Senkak

SVT Poster
Established Member
I've been running ET Streets for the past 4 years on the stock IRS except for bushings and IRS brace.
With my current mods I'm at 616/676 at the wheels. I launch on spray and am still on the stock half shafts.
I launch between 3500-5000 depending on track conditions.
Wheel hop is normally what breaks half shafts.
If you are running the stock tires up front expect a bit of sway on the big end. Don't worry about it. Drive straight through and you'll be fine. It can be a bit unnerving at times.
If you put bias ply tires up from the sway goes away.
Tire pressures range from 12-16.
My 60' times are in the low 1.6s.
Best of luck and have fun!
If you break a half shaft you can buy used one for about $100.

-

Posi

Had a blast.
Established Member
What Senkak said. Try and start out with 12lbs being as it looks like you're only going to run 1/8th mile. I went all the way down under 10lbs once and it was still fine. Time wise I'd say you're in Cali and you're on your own there lol. I know it's hotter than hell so I have no idea.

lukabrozi

SVT *****
Established Member
I run stock Toyo RA1's and have found that lowering the tire pressure at the track doesn't do anything but make my car swerve a lot.

Senkak

SVT Poster
Established Member