got fired for having low blood sugars

98slowbra

Established Member
well I started a new job on July 11th and my back doc put me on new meds for the pain in my back with my 10 ruptured discs, well the pain meds were not working very well in return when the pain goes up my blood sugar goes down. So the 1st day at work on July 11th as a contractor my sugar dropped to 35 and I needed some help, they got me help, not the way I wanted to start my 1st day on the job. The next day rolls around and the Manager is on vacation so one of full time Sr. person takes me in a room and says I need to keep my sugar under control or I will loose my job if it happens a 2nd time, so 3 weeks later my sugar drops again and this time I was able to take care of it myself and eat my glucose tablets for my sugar to come up and I was able to do so but took a hour and this was on Thursday Aug 3rd, so Friday rolls around and all is good, I am doing my job very well and I have been getting good reviews on my work. So after work Friday the contract house calls me and I am told that I am not working out and they got rid of me. That was the 2nd time and they let me go for medical reasons, the manager even took 3 hours off my time card on thrusday for my medical issue which only really took a hour to get my sugar up. It is against the law to fire someone for a medical condition correct? I do have an appt with my doc on the 16th to put my meds back to the way they were so I do not have these issues, after 2 years they still worked just fine but they got changed which affected everything and the doc said I needed 2 weeks to be on them to see if they help but they did not and I lost my job because of low blood sugars. This is a big company so I am just 1 guy but I am contacting the ADA to see if they can help in any way. I was shocked to hear to my face that if my sugar went low again I would be let go, this is not right. I know I am messed up but I do the best I can since I am a brittle type 1 diabet