Help! Need advice on a used 2.8h kenne bell

mvaccarelli

Established Member
Hello everyone I am a new cobra owner and this is my first time posting on this site. A little backround my first mustang I owned was a 2004 gt which I put too much money into for a 2v lol which I sold before I joined the army and now I am station in fort hood tx and bought my 2004 black cobra November 2015 with 36k miles which had JLT intake,smaller pulley (dont know what size) blora catback. I been wanting to go with a whipple or kenne belI. My goals are the 600rwhp range the 17-19 pounds of boost. I call up hpp racing up near Dallas area I heard they are one of the best tuners in the country for 03-04 Cobras. They tell me they are installing twin turbos on someone's cobra and they have their used 2.8h kenne bell liquid cooled that they are willing to sell me. They send me a quote 3250 for just the 2.8h kb blower by itself, they added in all the fuel system upgrades but I told them I wanted to run only enough boost for the stock fuel pumps can handle which I can get 60lb injectors and kb boost a pump and be safe with 17-19 lb boost pushing near 600horses? I was planning on going with a little smaller blower like a 2.6kb or 2.3 whipple but this used one came up and it can be better for the future if I wanted more. So the quote is 3250 for the blower which he said is in very good condition and only has like 8k miles. Another $ 400 for 60lb injectors, 400 for a throttle body, 610 labor, 425 tune, 270 for the BAP so we looking at $5250-5500 ish out the door unless I'm missing anything that I would need for this setup?? i would try and install it by myself but i am so busy with work I couldn't find the time. Is this worth buying used or should I just invest in a new 2.6 kenne which is only $100 more but without the liquid cooled and is smaller. What do y'all think? This is my daily driver street car. any and all advice is appreciated thank you! Sorry for any poor grammar or mistakes I am tired