How important is a degree (education)?

forbanger

Established Member
I work in the finance field and process a lot of applications. I have come across some ridiculous salaries/wages in surprising fields.

i.e.

-Auto sales rep (typical ford dealership) made $118k last year and ytd as of June 1st is $60k.

-Asst Manager at big box warehouse retailer (Sams Costco)....$90K salary.

I know these people from high school and they never went to college.

I on the other hand have a degree in Finance and a minor in Econ. Went to school for 5 years (lol!). I don't even make close to that ($70k). I work hard and do my best in everything I do. I guess I just don't have enough luck.

Anyway, just venting on what the universe had in store for me. Oh well, family is healthy and secure.

coposrv

Established Member
In the long run education is very important. As far as degrees go it really depends on your intended career field. Some companies are just looking for a bachelors to show you can at least finish something. Others don't give a shit. In the end it's up the individual and your future career. I work with plenty of guys who hussle and spend 8-9 months a year on the road and make 150-200k. I also work with guys who have the education and more importantly the experience who don't have too, to make the same money.

TrevorR90

Banned
That must include a lot of overtime or commission. No way an assistant manager will make 90k. THat sales rep must be a helluva salesman. I remember a thread a while back that everyone listed their income. Everyone made close to six figures but many admitted tons of overtime.

Oh and in the long run the degree is worth it. Lets say their companies go under. They are out of a job and there is no guarantee they will get the same job they did previously at the same pay with the same customer base. At least with a degree you will do one thing for a long time unless you change careers.

Last edited:

blwn306

Established Member