Moving to South Carolina!!

boxinabag

Established Member
Well it has finally happened, my wife and I are finally moving away from Texas (sorry Texas lovers). We despised it here for 3 and a half years (San Angelo, West Texas). She is being stationed at Shaw AFB in Sumter, SC! We are very excited, there will be grass and trees!!! I am also excited about only being 30-45 minutes from a city instead of 3 hours, and about 1 and half hours from the beach!

However, I am a little stressed, I have a job here in San Angelo that pays pretty decent ($40K a year) and now I have to find a new job :-/. I am a Systems Admin for 12 counties 911 systems so you would think it wouldn't be hard finding a job but without a degree it is a bit challenging (kind of upsetting actually, I find experience to be more important but others disagree). To make my search easier I will be testing for my Net+ and Linux+ soon (should be a breeze).

So I have a few questions, anyone out in that area that is willing to show us around? and does anyone know of any open positions in the IT field?

We will be moving there in late January! Other than finding work, I am THRILLED! Hopefully my car doesn't blow up on the way there XD

falke401

Established Member
I am stationed at Shaw. If you have any questions just let me know. It might be hard finding a job here because it is a very small and poor town.

boxinabag

Established Member
Thats the funny thing about it, it is actually bigger than San Angelo from my readings haha. But I am willing to commute to Columbia if I have to. If worse comes to worse I will join the AF Guard (I was originally going to enlist active but I can not since my wife is already active and we have a son, we would have to both give up full custody, but guard you can do without a problem..I don't understand it either lol).