New intake MF vs. Stock

SVTFsOnIcBlUe

C:\Socuments and Dettings
Established Member
Hello all. I am brand new to fords, SVT and Focus's. LOL. I just got my Sonic Blue 02, 2 days ago. I have a friend who has had an 04 Cobra since new and I believe he regularly visits this forum ( ahem, the cobra side of it). Anyway, The car had about 31,000 Miles on it and I got it for around 10k. It is bone stock and I had already considered putting a new intake on it. I was curious though if it would even be worthwhile to do so. I had noticed that with stock it has a particularly complex design already, where it has 2 places to draw in air. My understanding from reading things on this forum is that the small intake is for when you are at lower RPMs and that when you get up higher the bigger intake is more in use. I'm not certain that thats how it works but if it does work like that is there really much benefit from putting on a new intake manifold and filter? I appreciate all well thought out comments on this issue and thank you guys in advance.

HalfTime

Race it how you drive it.
Established Member
I think it is acctually the other way around. The long runners at low rpms induce higher torque, when as the short runners alow air to rush in at higher rpms.

Daeron

Established Member
Halftime is correct. But the air still comes through the airbox, MAF, and TB in all instances. The only issues with the stock intake manifold are the DSI clip, and the DSI motor (the nipple on the clip likes to break off, and the motor likes to either die, or go wacky and keep opening and closing very fast, even at idle).

FORDSVTPARTS

Authorized Vendor
You are just talking about the airbox assembly correct?

A short ram or cold air intake will help greatly, I would also recommend a stage 2 ported throttle body which really wakes the car up.

Page through SVTF pages here and you will find a thread about ported throttle bodies.

SVTFsOnIcBlUe

Established Member
Daeron said: