New to Drag Racing any Advice

11_Ingot5.0

Established Member
Hey everyone,

Well next Friday I decided to go with a couple of friends and drive to NJ to have some fun at the drag strip. This is my first time trying to drag race and would like to hear some advice from the pros?

My Car Specs:
2011 GT 6speed 3.73 rear/ will be running street tires(hankook Evo 12s) on Roush 20's
Ported CJ Mani
SCJ Throttle body
Drews custom 5inch CAI
lethal Off Road Hpipe and over axle pipes
borla S type
AED Tune
Aluminum 1 piece drive shaft
Steeda Proaction struts and shocks
GT500 strut mounts
Eibach Sportlines springs
J&M LCA
BMR Panhard bar
Whiteline tranny bushing
Barton 2 post bracket

How do you think my will run? What should I launch at, Tire pressure? Give me Some ADVICE Guys!!!

thanks

burnin4

Car Junkie
Established Member
60ft is everything, shoot for anything under 2.00 on street tires, dont blow the tires off at the line, press and hold your AH/TC for 6-8 seconds to completely disengage the nannies, let your car cool down for an hour after you get there and 30 mins between each pass. check your tire pressure, oil level, try to arrive with 1/2 tank of gas, bring a video camera, dont worry about the car beside of you, might be best to go solo as often as possible to avoid any rookie mistakes. have fun!

Weather Man

Persistance Is A Bitch
Established Member
If you decide you like it, pick up a set of cheap rims and get some drag radials. Fighting street tires is for the birds.

mustang john

Established Member