Nitto NT-05 or Kumho MX

slick4_6

Established Member
I have been running Kumho MX 275/40ZR17 for the last two years and they are now completely done. I probably got 15k-20k miles out of them. I loved the stickiness of them but now that I need more I can't seem to find any in stock. The NT-05 appears to be a comparable tire for the price. Anyone have any opinions on these tires to help me out or maybe some other tires that I am missing. The NT-05 only has 7/32 tread new while the MX has 9/32 which kinda makes me question how long it will last for me. I want the best handling tire I can get that will last me at least 10k-15k miles. I need brakes all around also so I am not looking to spend over the $700 or so range on tires. Or would you just keep looking and waiting for the Kumho's to come in stock?

STAMPEDE3

SAULS BROTHER
Super Moderator
I have not tried the NT-05 but everything I've read/studies says they should serve you well.

I love the MXs though.
If it were me I wouldn't be scared to run either and would probably buy which ever I can get sooner/cheaper.

STAMPEDE3

SAULS BROTHER
Super Moderator
In his case it would be the 555RII but it seems he wants a street tire not a 100 treadwear "R" compound.

200-220 treadwear is a perfect compromise between grip/longevity.

slick4_6

Established Member
I want a tire that will really grip but a treadwear of 100 is a definite no go.

Only having 7/32 tread new worries me about the NT-05. I need at least 10k miles out of them. 10k miles will get me 2 years wear out of them. I have a slick right rear and 1/32 on the left rear and the weather is getting too nice to have it sit long. I might try to PM Discount Tire Direct on here and see what kind of time span I am looking at on the known to me MX. Some of the autocross forums say the XS has alot more grip than the MX but the MX likes it when they are hot, which I can attest to. Decisions, decisions.

Has anyone actually ran the NT-05?