Not Cobra related. 07-10 F150 5.4 related

DaveWertz

Established Member
I need some advice all. Looking around to get back into a truck. Price wise I have 20k cash so this leaves me to look in the 07-10 year range. I have lots of experience with the old 5.4 before cam phasers but zero with years I just listed. I refuse to look at 04-06 trucks just because they were a new design back then. Anyhow, how hard is it to replace these cam phasers? Is it that big of a deal when or if they go bad and is it almost certsin they fail. I see allot of these trucks with high miles so they must be pretty reliable? What other problems accure with these motors...

Sent from my LM-Q620 using the svtperformance.com mobile app

me32

BEASTLY SHELBY GT500 TVS
Premium Member
Go with a 2010, 6speed auto, electric fan, E85 compatible. If you are mechanically inclined with the right tools it should be straightforward todo. Watch youtube videos they should alot how to tear it apart and put it together with the lastest ford parts. Also only use the lastest ford parts. Do not use aftermarket phasers they have been known to fail and cause more issues.

03cobra#694

Good Guy
Super Moderator
My 04 with that motor had like 140K on it when I sold it. I just changed the oil regular, and had zero issues. Now changing the plugs, that's another story.

DaveWertz

Established Member
I keep seeing that if you keep up with oil you see less issues. I also see they male a 1pc phaser that fixes the problem. Might be worth just getting the truck as long as I hear no phaser issues. Spark plugs will be changed immediately. Why on earth would ford use a 2pc plug?
My 04 with that motor had like 140K on it when I sold it. I just changed the oil regular, and had zero issues. Now changing the plugs, that's another story.

SID297

OWNER/ADMIN
Administrator