Oil field Jobs

01Jes

Z06 bought with food stamps
Established Member
Here in Texas I heard the oil field companies are laying off a large amount of employees. Gas prices down my street are the lowest I've seen in 6~7yrs...$1.95 a gallon. Is the Oil Industry taking a crash and for how long?

Torch10th

I make hits
Established Member
I have family and friends in the industry. They're as busy now as they've ever been. Profits may not be as large, but cash flow is king. At the very least, current projects will continue, but new projects may slow.

What that means is water companies that supply frack operations will feel the squeeze first. Jobs like pumpers, roustabouts, measurement techs will continue to be busy. We still need the stuff.

GT350pwns

Established Member
I am far from an expert in the field. But, I think the nose dive in oil prices have a couple of causes:

1. We had HUGE shale oil output last year
2. We are trying to isolate Russia and hurt them economically.

I believe that once the second goal has been sufficiently achieved, we will probably see another upward swing in gas and oil prices.

Riddla

It's for your own protection
Established Member
Those prices were the normal back then, I don't see why they cant profit like before.

Inflation or what?

OhIIICobra

Established Member
Overall the oil and gas industry achieves mind numbing quarterly profits compared to other sectors. OPEC isn't cutting production, so hopefully consumers who were getting ass raped with $4 per gallon prices for years can now enjoy the low prices for a good long while. The greedy oil corps will hurt the little guy first by hammering their loyal workers vs. hurting their bottom line.

I just filled up for $1.49 so no complaints here.

Sinister04L

RIP Kane
Established Member