opnions needed about a job

bmyles

Established Member
Hey all, I need some opinions from unbiased people about a job offer I just got. I applied for job a few weeks ago as a welder with a national pipeline company and got a job offer from them a week ago. Currently I am a welder at a petro chemical plant which I have been at for 8 years, but its getting kinda old (the job).
My wife works for the other company and she does a fair bit of traveling to and from sites about 1 1/2 each way 3-4 times a week, for which she is paid generously for in my opinion. We have 4 kids under 10 and I understand that she wants to spend more time with them, but in the same token she could work within 20 minuets of home but chooses not to :shrug:.
Anyway the new job would require us to move a couple of hours away, work a 9 on 5 off with being out of town for the 9 days, 2 weeks less vaction and a 18000 dollar a year pay cut. I currently work 4 10 hour shifts and am home every night.
The way I see it shes the only one benefiting from this because she dosent have to travel as much to the job she wants. The kids are settled in here at school with friends and don't want to move, not to mention we would be almost doubling our debt with the new house and such for less income.
I obviously don't want to move, but let me have it am I being a selfish prick here by not wanting to move:beer:

forbanger

Established Member
So you mentioned all the negatives. The biggie is 2 weeks less vacation and $18K less.
Why did you even apply for it?

If the wife is making $100K more than you then I would do it. If not, it would kind of be a dumb move.

bmyles

Established Member
So you mentioned all the negatives. The biggie is 2 weeks less vacation and $18K less.
Why did you even apply for it?

If the wife is making $100K more than you then I would do it. If not, it would kind of be a dumb move.