Police: "Professional Courtesy"

SM0KE

SVT God
Established Member
In the police world there's this thing commonly known as "Professional Courtesy." To put it bluntly, this means the off duty police officer will be let off with a warning as soon as the the officer initiating the traffic stop figures out he's just stopped another off duty officer. Depending on what side of the country you're on, the officer may simply flash his badge to show he's an officer, or the hint could be made in a more subtle way sounding something like this: "Sir, just so you're aware, my 'service weapon' is (or isn't) in the vehicle with me." They might verify credentials and the traffic stop is done. What are your thoughts on this?

Let me get this out on the table before I continue. I'd be a liar if I said I haven't gotten out of a ticket since I've been a cop, by one way or another, letting the officer know that I'm a Trooper. This was a couple years ago, but I had gotten stopped for going 11 over (86 in a 75), and got a verbal warning because it was made aware to the officer that I was a Trooper. I didn't think a second thing about it at the time.