Push Down or Pull Up for Reverse - Which Do You Prefer?

Which Method Do You Prefer

• Push-Down - Like the 2011-2014 Mustang

Votes: 14 35.9%
  • Pull-Up - Like the 2015 Mustang

Votes: 19 48.7%
  • Neither - Give me an Automatic

Votes: 6 15.4%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

SID297

OWNER/ADMIN
Administrator
The MT-82 in the 2011-2014 Mustangs require you to push the shift ball down in order to be able to engage reverse. For 2015 Ford included a ring under the shift ball that must be pulled up before you can engage reverse. The 2015 system is essentially the same one that has been used on a lot of import cars for years. My question is, which method do you prefer.

assasyn

Established Member
I have no experience with either but it would seem to me that pulling up seems more intentional.

Dizzyscure1

Established Member
I'm saying like the 11-14 MT-82. I just think sometimes I need to hurry with reverse and that's one more step what could cause a wreck due to taking more time buts that's me.

nicksender

Established Member
I prefer the push down method to pulling any ring up. I guess I"m used to it from past Mustangs.

I hope Ford isn't considering this change as one of their fixes to make this trans better than that used on the previous generation! :-D

mavisky

Established Member
I've used the pull up before. Worked great in the old 6 speed Hyundai Tiburon's we used to sell. You absolutely knew what was going on and the lift up paired with reverse being down and to the right was very intuitive.

The Chrysler Crossfires has the push down for reverse and I could never tell if I had done it correctly until you let the clutch out, so it sometimes caused you to have to sit there and be very deliberate that you pushed down before putting any direction into it or you'd just grab whatever gear was nearest reverse instead.

I never owned or lived with either of these cars day to day so I'm sure you'd adapt, but he pull up seemed more intuitive.

acrbill