Question for Engineers!

#1stangfreak

'02GT for me!
Established Member
How many of you have taken the FE? I took it once last year on a whim without studying (I had many setbacks and it was too late to back out) and that was by far the hardest test I've ever taken. Needless to say, I didn't pass.

So its that time again and I need to decide today whether or not I want to take the exam again in October.

Would you consider the exam necessary if I'm not sure about continuing on to the PE?

Would not having passed the FE effect any potential job opportunities? I just feel like I'd be throwing away another $150 if I don't pass again......

Thoughts?

EDIT: I'm Mechanical Engineering

Last edited:

Coiled03

Established Member
I assume you're referring to the EIT exam. Yes, taking and passing it was a requirement for graduation where I went to school.

If you're not seriously considering pursuing your PE, I wouldn't bother.

96dreamer

Established Member
I graduated in june and have been working since june after failing my FE miserably, drinking the night before probably didn't help. I was required to take it to graduate but wasn't required to pass. Unless you're civil or arche i dont think its as big of a deal as most make it out to be. I got over not passing it after my first paycheck.

TheCPE

Skeptic
Established Member
Depends on which engineering you are in and what you expect to do during your career on whether it is important. In most cases I would say no.

I took it just for the challenge, but it has never been important to my career. I suppose it is just another thing to have on your resume but I've never been asked nor comments made about it during interviews... experience is much more important.

VerySneaky

Bug Annihilator
Established Member
I've passed the FE/EIT exam in Maryland. I took it during my last semester at UMD.