Questions on home porting TB & plenum

Voice of Reason

Established Member
I'm thinking about trying my hand at porting my TB and plenum myself. Does anyone have any pics they can share of finished products from either porting they have done them selves or the ports done by some of the professional shops around? Also, has anyone tried porting themselves and found it to be just way too difficult or it caused problems with their car? I feel confident in my mechanical ability to do most any mod but I've never done any porting before, so I'm curious what I'm getting myself into. Thanks.

YGETV8

Established Member
ported TB/plenum

There are no "tricks" to this porting, like there are when porting heads and blowers. Just have to know when to stop before you break through the casting walls! A die grinder with a carbide burr tip made for aluminum and dipped into oil every several seconds will rough it out, then follow with some sanding wheels to get the finished product. Easy? No. Do-able? Yes.

CobraBob

Authorized Vendor
Established Member
Premium Member
Single Barrel Sirs
It's doable, but I wouldn't personally do it unless I had a surplus of time and wasn't afraid of making a mistake. LOL!

fusion_ta66

Established Member
It is very easy. If you just take your time you will be able to do it. Get a long (~6" or longer) aluminum carbide burr and use an air-powered die grinder. Also, I don't believe it's worth the time to do any additional smoothing after the grinding. Even if for some reason you broke through you could easily repair it with epoxy. Took me about 2-3 hours for both TB and plenum. DON'T go crazy on the TB.

Hoss3430

Established Member
I may be wrong here, but isn't a lot of the gain from porting the plenum due to filling (welding) the areas around the bolt recesses, and straightening out that area ??

dougwg

Established Member
Hoss3430 said: