Reliability issues with 2012-up automatics?

gcassidy

One more lap!
Established Member
A friend needs to replace his car, and is thinking about late-model Focus SE, Titanium, or ST. But he needs reliability. I told him my '02 and my wife's '05 have been great for over a decade. But he has heard there are some transmission issues with the 2012-up automatics.

Can anyone report if there are issues, and if they should be considered serious enough to factor into what could otherwise be a great car? He is assuming the manuals are not an issue, but wants to know if he has the option of an auto.

Thanks,

VenomousSVT

TRQSTEER
Established Member
yes the auto in the regular focus has been horribly plagued with problems. The ST is the only option honestly in that lineup.

Swetrid

Established Member
Ford has extended warranty coverage on the 2011-2014 Focus automatic transmissions due to reliability issues.

jonb347

Established Member
not really an issue if you drive through it. Im a tech. work on them all the time. in general they are great cars.

the first issues were from the rear engine seal leaking oil into the clutch packs. its basically a manual trans with an automatic shifting clutch. so think about like if your clutch gets packed full of oil.

then the replacement clutches started having issues. its not a transmission problem, its a clutch problem. and ford extended the warranty to 100k on the thing for piece of mind.

another problem is that people don't realize how to drive them. us americans aren't used to this type of transmission and we aren't tolerant to it. people feel the way it shifts a little different and let off the gas. this screws everything up due to adaptive learning. once you learn to push through it and drive it its fine.