Seismic surveyor (oil field)

RussianStang

Established Member
Just out of curiosity, I wonder how many of you here work in the oil field. I used to be a seismic surveyor for almost 3 years and have some crazy experiences.

Would love to hear the craziest shit you guys ran into while working.

I got chased by a badger down a mountain for about mile in Craig, Colorado. Had to jump a barb wire fence and then into some strangers truck. Thank god he was there because that badger would of messed me up.

RocketSurgeon

Established Member
You talking about ground stomping and logging for reserve estimation or logging tools in wellbores?

I'm a frac engineer. All the microseismic guys do is hang out in our van and browse the Chive. Seen a lot of crazy (and stupid) shit but I just got home from 18 hours on location and don't feel like writing out any stories right now

James Snover

The Ill-Advised Physics Amplification Co
Established Member
Premium Member
As I understand it Badgers are always pissed off at every other living thing on Earth. Its what they do, and they're good at it. Bears even try to avoid Badgers.

How did you manage to piss off a badger!?

Double"O"

N2S come get some
Established Member
Ya know there a such things as big bore pistols right? Lol

CompOrange04GT

Anyone have a strap on my girl can use on me?
Established Member
Easy... H2S

or when a rod shot out of a hydration unit and went through another truck

RussianStang

Established Member
Sadly we arent allowed to carry since its either private property or reserve land. Badgrs are damn mean man and it doesnt help that I suprised him.

I did the mapping and set up the locations for the drills or the vibes.

Jebadias

Established Member
I'm a Refinery Operator and the craziest is being 10' underneath a busted H2 line when it lit off. Apparently you could feel the shockwave a half mile away but I was too close to feel anything but the heat.

10thAnnvCobra

Member MACA
Established Member