Shocks, and struts, and springs... Oh my!!

subemup

Established Member
Hey guys, I'm new to suspension mods and have a ?? I know I've got a "special needs" car in a convertible. I've already got some full length SFCs and a diff. brace I'm waiting to install, and I just ordered some H&R race springs. The H&R site says upgraded shocks are "recommended". How important are new shocks and struts for me? I'd love the FTBR kit too but the money tree is not in bloom yet. The car isn't going to the drag strip, just a street car. Anything else I should be considering? Thanks for the help, and yes I've tried the search function... a lot.

jrgoffin

Been around...
Established Member
The '03/'04 coupe struts & shocks will be what you need next (providing you are staying with Bilstein). You can find them in the Market or on eBay all the time.

If you are a DIY type, at the very least, add the harder diff mounts while you are it - very easy to do (the MM/Prothane mounts are rock solid). If you get adventurous, control arm and cradle bushings will be a bonus later on!

subemup

Established Member
Thanks, that's just what I needed. I'll grab some coupe shocks and look into the diff. mounts too. I'm definately a DIY guy. I plan on doing all this myself, except the FLSFCs, I don't have a lift or a welder. Just me, my garage, and some jack stands.

707svt

Venom Feeder
Established Member
You dont need to replace your struts, all lowering spring manufactures say to do this but 03/04 Cobras alreeady come with Bilstein shocks, coupes are lighter then verts so I would not go with the coupe springs, keep what you have or if anytrhing go with a adjust strut to make it stiffer like TKO ect.

jrgoffin

Been around...
Established Member