Some MOD Advice Please

Raf1231

Established Member
Hello everyone, Im new to the Lightning world and am seeking
some good advice on what my first mods should be.

2004 Lightning 63k miles Bone stock

Thanks

Dusten

Established Member
I suggest you read this
http://www.svtperformance.com/forum...look-here-first-before-posting-questions.html

Then, do a search.

Your questions will likely all be answered. But, first you must ask yourself, what do you want out of the truck, 400hp, 500hp, 12's, 11's? Fun daily driver? Street Terror. All these things need to be answered before you can start modding. I would suggest that one of your first mods be a valve body for the transmission to firm up shifts and increase its lifespan. Next i would get some traction bars, as lightnings love to wheel hop. Then i would get a pulley, tuner, and a good tune either from a reputable local tuner, or get an email tune from someone like amazon tuning.

themadgnome

I don't talk stock
Established Member
In addition, I would consider a few "maintenance" things that have more than likely been over looked considering its a bone stock truck. Look into getting an oil separator to prevent the issues associated with the PCV system, but furthermore, I would also pull the S/C and give the intercooler a good cleaning. Also, for piece of mind, you might want to consider changing the fuel filter. After that, let the modding begin.

SVT_LIGHTNING01

Established Member
the cheapest hp for the money is certainly a crank pulley however you need a tune and probably a good intake to be safe and take advantage. oil separator is a must. An EGR delete is an easy way to cut out hot air in the plenum and can easily be programmed within a tune

Raf1231

Established Member
Appreciate the feedback fellas. Truck already has an oil seperator on it, and that is all that I have been able to find that is not factory.

I wouldn't mind getting it up to 450-500hp. It is my dd so I don't want to go