Stock 2001 Cobra upgrade project

1TWINCHARGEDSNA

I own a stock 2001 Cobra SVT sitting at 90k miles and wanted to give it a bit more power while still using it as a daily driver. Very little to no prior knowledge on upgrading an engine but have decided on working towards making my car the best that I can. My original thoughts were a hellion twin turbo kit but as I said I have no prior experience and was looking for help.

Martel

Established Member
I would personally suggest working on the suspension first so the car can handle the power.
Subframe connectors
Rear bushings
shocks springs
brakes
K-member
control arms
This sort of thing.

killspray

The Killstroyer
Established Member
What power level you looking for? You will for sure need forged rods and pistons. Depending on what block you have (WAP vs Teksid), you may need to upgrade that as well. I had a Hellion single kit and my only regret was not upgrading the Turbonetics turbo to a Precision turbo. Hellion makes a nice bolt-in kit.

I would conservatively plan/research/budget for:
Rebuilt short block
Upgrade that TR-3650 to something that can handle the power
As Martel mentioned, your suspension
...especially if you a stock IRS
New return style fuel system including pumps, lines, rails, injectors, etc...
New clutch

That would be a good start on where to look. Just to give you a heads up though, our cars do not have the solid foundation that the 03/04 Cobras come with. They come stock with forged internals, better flowing heads and a T-56 tranny that can hold some decent power stock and even more with an upgraded input shaft. It will cost a new edge cobra a lot more to get to the same power level is what I'm trying to say.

1TWINCHARGEDSNA