• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Supercharger coolant pump tuner settings

Discussion in 'Terminator Talk' started by Wings65288, Aug 1, 2018.

  1. Wings65288

    Wings65288 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,824
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Fortuna, CA
    Does anyone know if you can adjust when the intercooler pump kicks on in a tune? I have a switch tapped into the orange and white wire like most everyone else and can turn the pump on manually via the switch. However the pump only comes on by itself rarely. I sat there and let the car idle for 20 minutes and watched the pump, the only time it kicked on was when the reading was 78 degrees and it only stayed on for about a minute. It then shut off and got as high as 92 and never came back on unless I manually turned it on with the switch.

    I'm thinking something needs to be adjusted in the tune?
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2018
  2. 01yellercobra

    01yellercobra AKA slo984now Established Member

    Messages:
    16,663
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    There is an adjustment that can be made in the tune. I think it has to do with the temp. I adjusted mine so it comes on as soon as the car is started. That's weird that the temp got up to 92 and it still didn't turn on though.
     
  3. Zemedici

    Zemedici Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    19,564
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Those pumps are known for rather high failure rates, id keep a Ford Racing unit as backup

    M-8501-MSVT

    Sounds like yours is going out if it came on at 78, but didn’t come on by 92.
     
  4. Wings65288

    Wings65288 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,824
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Fortuna, CA
    Well it's actually a Chiselled Ice Box setup with a Rule 2000 pump inside the tank. I snipped the stock wiring where the old pump use to plug in and soldered in wiring running all the way back to the NEW pump. Like I said the pump works, I can turn it on whenever with the switch.

    And I know it can turn on by itself because I've seen it do it. I'm just wondering why it's not on most of the time like everyone else's. I'm thinking it has to be in the tuner settings that my friend can adjust when he makes a tune
     
  5. Zemedici

    Zemedici Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    19,564
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Just leave that bitch on all the time
     
    Wings65288 likes this.
  6. Wings65288

    Wings65288 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,824
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Fortuna, CA
    Lol good point, might just have to do this. Only thing is I'll have to manually turn the switch off and on every time I drive it. Not the end of the world just not the solution im after
     
    Zemedici likes this.
  7. Wings65288

    Wings65288 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,824
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Fortuna, CA
    I was hoping someone who makes tunes could come in here and shed some light on it. I'm thinking there has to be some sort of timer and or temp setting in the tuning software I can tell my tuner to look at
     
  8. 03' White Snake

    03' White Snake Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    2,910
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Mass
    Run it off a relay and forget the switch. Power on when cars running and have it always pumping. No need to remember to turn it off and on everytime.
     
    Zemedici likes this.
  9. Wings65288

    Wings65288 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,824
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Fortuna, CA
    I have a huge 10 gallon ice tank in my trunk and I'd like to be able to cycle the pump with ice in the tank and have the car OFF while doing so. This way the blower will cool faster in between runs at the track. I won't have to leave my car on to do this
     
  10. Wings65288

    Wings65288 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,824
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Fortuna, CA
    I see guys all over the forums accomplishing what I'm doing. Only difference is when they get in and drive their car their pump automatically kicks on for them. Mine seems to do it at its leisure or when I physically turn on the switch and or jumper the relay
     
  11. cj428mach

    cj428mach Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,267
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    Kansas
    If your tuner cant find the intercooler pump setting, fire your tuner.
     
    Zemedici likes this.
  12. Wings65288

    Wings65288 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,824
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Fortuna, CA
    Lol he's a good friend and a great tuner. It's probably something very small he's not seeing in the tuning software. I can't think of what else it could be.

    Only other option is a bad PCM or bad relay.
     
  13. HPLouis

    HPLouis Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,239
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    These are the parameters:
    Intercooler Pump Min ACT to Turn Off
    Custom Stock
    30.000 50.000

    Intercooler Pump Min ACT to Turn On
    Custom Stock
    50.000 70.000

    Min ACT2 for Pump Back Off
    Custom Stock
    20.000 40.000

    Min ACT2 for Pump On
    Custom Stock
    40.000 60.000

    Min Time After Start Until Pump Is On
    Custom Stock
    10.000 20.000
     
    Wings65288 likes this.
  14. Wings65288

    Wings65288 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,824
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Fortuna, CA
    There it is, I'll have him see if this shows up on his software. This has to be on the right track. Thank you for taking the time to post this info. I'll report back with the findings
     
  15. HPLouis

    HPLouis Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,239
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    This is from SCT's Pro Racer software.

    Custom is the settings I have in my tune and stock is what the car is set at stock.
     
    Wings65288 likes this.
  16. Wings65288

    Wings65288 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,824
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Fortuna, CA
    Yeah just talked to him. He said he's seen this and he will adjust it for me. Thanks again Louis
     
    HPLouis likes this.
  17. HPLouis

    HPLouis Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,239
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    Cool


    Sent from my iPhone using the svtperformance.com mobile app
     
  18. G3T_TERMINATED

    G3T_TERMINATED New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Location:
    Nebraska
    I know this is a little old, but I'm terrible with electrical work. Could you describe how exactly one would go about doing this? I'm going to be installing the trunk tank and Rule 2000 pump and am trying to do as much research as possible prior to installing the setup.
     
  19. Wings65288

    Wings65288 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,824
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Fortuna, CA
    Well basically I bought my box through a company called Chiseled Performance.
    CHISELED PERFORMANCE WATERTANKS

    He installs the Rule 2000 pump inside the tank he made. Remove your factory pump (I extended the wire that was on my factory pump all the way back to my trunk and hooked it up to the new pump).

    Then get some hose from Napa (I forget the size off the top of my head but can check later if u want and run it all the way back to the trunk. I went in through the bottom of the trunk with a step drill. I can get pics if u want
     

Share This Page