SVT Contour 3L swap

derekdonet

Ok, so i'm reading all this stuff about the 3L swaps using a 2001+ escape or taurus engine...but what would make it the SVT again, because its essentially the higher compression that makes a contour the SVT right? So would you need to swap out the heads and do any machining of the intake or whatever? What would be the difference of that and boring out the 2.5 and replacing the pistons? I'm not a mechanic so don't judge me.

4GTNSVT

Hatin' In My Free Time
Established Member
Go to contour.org and search 3L.....there are a million plus threads on them over their....this question gets asked all the time....not trying to be rude or anything but if you search and read you will find the answers you are looking for they have all been answered many many times over

crazyj0n

Established Member
A straight 3L swap has nothing 'svt' about it, but is generally the best route to go. You could go hybrid route and mate the svt heads to a 3.0 block, but if i remember right a straight 3.0 swap is best. Been awhile since I've looked into it, but you can look through the pages on this site its been covered thoroughly.

rich5150

Network Guy
Established Member
Ok, so i'm reading all this stuff about the 3L swaps using a 2001+ escape or taurus engine...but what would make it the SVT again, because its essentially the higher compression that makes a contour the SVT right? So would you need to swap out the heads and do any machining of the intake or whatever? What would be the difference of that and boring out the 2.5 and replacing the pistons? I'm not a mechanic so don't judge me.