T56 Magnum XL swap

charba951

BOOSTTD
Established Member
Well boys and girls...I was getting ready to do a stage 1 mt82 build, but came across a pretty good deal on a used T56 Magnum XL. I have decent mechanical skills, but I'm no pro. With the help of a few friends I've been able do all the bolting on the car myself: various bolt-ons, long tubes, and my latest and greatest achievement, TT install. Haven't done a clutch or trans swap though, and I can't find a decent walk through. And words of wisdom, hints, tricks of the trade, post them up. I should be making my road trip to pick up the trans this weekend and will probably start install next weekend. Thanks.

wakebum2507

EVLTWNS
Established Member
INDEX THE BELLHOUSING! i fought this issue for 7 months with the quicktime bell, and ate thru two sets of synchros, two input shafts, and everything associated with them.

it was all due to the bell being off by a little.

besides that, it's no different than any other trans job.

charba951

BOOSTTD
Established Member
INDEX THE BELLHOUSING! i fought this issue for 7 months with the quicktime bell, and ate thru two sets of synchros, two input shafts, and everything associated with them.

it was all due to the bell being off by a little.

besides that, it's no different than any other trans job.

[youtube_browser]-mb4ezHj1BU[/youtube_browser]

FIVEHOE

Established Member
Any reason why you decided to go with the magnum over the mt82 rebuild?

I'm kind of in the same boat. Debating if its worth it to upgrade the shitty MT82, as I do like the feel and it was actually made for our car. But the magnum is so much more durable, and definitely a hell of a lot better for boosted applications. But the price is nearly the cost of a supercharger.

charba951

BOOSTTD
Established Member