Target buyer of the shelby cobra

Xwelder

i'm a welder-I can fix it
Established Member
I just had a thought I figured I'd share. I wonder who ford is targeting here.
The car is for sure styled after the late 60's shelby mustangs. It will be a powerful car, but with items like the craked rods, it won't be easy to mod.

My thought is this. My dad was 18 in 1968. He's told me how he wanted a shelby then but couldn't get one with starting out a family. Now that his kids are out of the house and he is financially doing well, he could easily buy a sports car. The problem is nothing appeals to him on the showroom floors anymore. Along comes the Shelby Cobra. Now, keep in mind, my dad ain't gonna be street racing, much less at the track, so modding the car won't happen. He also doesn't really want a super flashy car. This new cobra fits him perfectly. But a guy like me wants a car that has in your face styling and a motor that can be built to handle some real mods.

I think this is our fathers cobra.

CobraBob

Authorized Vendor
Established Member
Premium Member
Single Barrel Sirs
I hear ya, but you apparently aren't reading what many of the threads here are speaking. A ton of people of all ages and backgrounds love the GT500 concept. If Ford were to release it pretty much as it stands and for under $40K it will be a monster hit IMO. And not just those who lived through the late 60s.

PowerWheels

Anti-Bullshit
Established Member
They are targeting anyone who likes a muscle car image. There are plenty of 16 year olds that will appreciate the car, but most who are under 25 will simply not have the cash for it. Most of the older guys will look, but won't buy, it will be the 25 to 45 crowed mainly.

bunk22

Established Member
I'll be 35 this year :( and not only do I love the original Shelby, I love this new version as well. I've got the cash and will have one in my garage when they arrive.

Mr. Mach-ete

Liberals Suck
Established Member
bunk22 said: