throttle body issues... please any advice!

SVTbaby

Established Member
hey guys.. im new to all of this but i have an issue and ive gotten a couple decent guesses from my guy friends if there possibly is any body else out there thats had this problem that would be wonderful!

i have a 2001 cobra and the mods ive done to it are your pretty basic mods... full exhaust headers back SLP high flow cats, flowmaster mufflers, BBK cold air intake and now the BBK 65mm throttle body. I have it lowered with wheels, caster camber plates, and a short throw shifter but those guys i dont think have any influence on my problem.

i just installed the throttle body myself today and i followed the directions to the T...

first off i had to adjust that little set screw cause it would f ire up and stall right out so i adjusted it a little bit and got it in a good spot but maybe some advice on where it should be too would be great, im think its supposed to be right under 1000 like 950 i thought...then i let it completely warm up for like 20 minutes and then i went to drive it around trhe block and I was going maybe like when i was doing like 35 downhill and down shifting as i stuck my foot on the clutch the sucker died while i was moving! it started right back up but now the dreaded SERVICE ENGINE SOON light is on and wont go off. Also theres this little CHROME cyclinder (looks like a soleniod mini beer can shape) looking thing that looks like it goes into the entrance of throttle body to the intake manifold thats sits right behind it and it sounds like air is escaping from it when i cover my hand up over it can go away but when im driving it on the road it really sounds like air wheezing out of it only when my foot is on the gas...