Tool Box Preference

Status
Not open for further replies.

scott5

Established Member
I am an aircraft mechanic and as all mechanics know your box is your livelihood and I am looking to upgrade finally from my Kobalt 11 drawer box to a wider, deeper and better quality box. We get a Snap-on truck and a Matco truck at work and started looking at the MATCO 5s and the Snap-on KRL series box's. Anyone have both and prefer one or the other. Or had one and got the other. After doing alil research I am leaning towards the Matco 5s, but the KRL series just seems like too good of a box to pass up. I am looking to buy a box that lasts me a very very very long time. So which do you prefer and why?

2000 gt

Established Member
Im a car mechanic. I have a snap on box. My co worker bought a matco box. Hands down snap on has better quality. And is a lifetime purchase. If u buy one big enough ull never need to buy another box ever again.

oldmodman

Established Member
I'm just a hobbyist mechanic.

I have both a SnapOn rollaway and a HUGE Matco box. The quality of the two seems to be about the same.

The SnapOn is just a bottom box and I got it about 1978

The Matco box I bought used from an LAPD motorcycle mechanic.

My main statement about both brands is that they are built like tanks. I have overloaded drawers in both boxes and the ball bearing slides held up perfectly.
About once every five years I take all the tools out, remove all the drawers, clean and oil the slides, polish the cabinets (and wax them too), and of course clean and wipe down with oil all the tools.

My recommendation is to search out the best deal you can find on a used box from either brand.

Of course if my name was Treynor I would order brand new, fully stocked, custom painted motorized boxes from SnapOn and spend many a happy evening fondling my tool(s).:dw:

coposrv

Established Member