Touch UP paint??

balla530

Established Member
I'm fairly new to polishing/waxing and caring for a car's exterior. I picked up a couple of small rock chips in my car, and I had 2 when I bought it. I bought the right touch up paint from my local ford, what's the best way to apply the touch up paint ? also I got a pen at the dealership that I work at, it's for a kia, but one side has the paint and the other has a clear coat? should I apply the touch up paint, and after it dries give it a coat of the clear ?? any help is appreciated thanks

Jazz

S.V.T.

'schitty wok'
Established Member
use crayons....
suicide.gif

Bens4vcobra

On hallowed ground
Established Member
this is ironic, i did a search on touch up paint before posting a new thread. i just noticed a chip in the front bumper of my 07 today. i am very skeptical of touch up paint. would really like someone to make some suggestions on what products and methods of use PLEASE!

CobraDave1

Established Member
I saw a demo on the Duplicolor website. They have a little kit that has all you need to even out the scratch, rock chip, etc, color coat, clear coat. They demo the entire process on the website. I've done something similar, including the crayon route, but their system looks it could be the best. It's getting the surface flat again that's the biggest issue, and they use glazing putty for that. It's worth a look, besides, I own 40% of the company. Got to keep that revenue coming in.(just kidding on that shareholder part) :)

Dave

SmokinCobra420

Kush is good MmmKay!
Established Member
Before applying touch up you MUST use a small q-tip with some rubbing alcohol, to clean the wax and dirt out of the chip, otherwise the touch up wont last.