Track Racing Tires/Brake Pad Wear and Upgrades

TJR12

TJR12
Established Member
Looking for some suggestions on tires and brake pad wear and upgrades for the 2013 Shelby GT500. Have lots of experience road racing cars and motorcycles, but nothing near as heavy or with as much HP as my soon to arrive GT500. Anyone already track their new Shelby and replaced brake pads or tires? How long did the stock tires and brake pads last? What did you replace them with? Do you have a separate set of wheels and tires for track use? Thanks for any suggestions or insight.

Lethalchem

Sigmund Frod
Established Member
I am by no means an expert in this area, but every time my car club rents out a road course to play on, I need new brake pads by the time I get home (if not sooner). Now this has not been in the new Shelby (the last time I went was in my 03 Cobra) but from the reviews of the GT500 brake fade, I suspect the results will be the same. If I take my GT500 to a road course sometime in the future, it will definitely be on a different set of wheels/tires and I will have new pads ready to install afterwords.

Van@RevanRacing

Looking for some suggestions on tires and brake pad wear and upgrades for the 2013 Shelby GT500. Have lots of experience road racing cars and motorcycles, but nothing near as heavy or with as much HP as my soon to arrive GT500. Anyone already track their new Shelby and replaced brake pads or tires? How long did the stock tires and brake pads last? What did you replace them with? Do you have a separate set of wheels and tires for track use? Thanks for any suggestions or insight.