Tube Amp Gurus, need some help

FX4 SAPPER

Established Member
I have a Peavey 6505+ head running through some vintage Fender cabs. Ive been playing with this setup for about 9 months now with no issues. Running at 4 ohms since im running two 8 ohm cabinets. Recently ive been having an issue with my lead channel on my head, to where after the amp has been on for a couple of minutes the channel loses volume/gain, almost like the volume knob on the guitar is down. Its not the guitar or cables and its only on the lead channel. I have contacted Peavey but they are closed for the holiday. Im leaning towards a bad tube possibly but it doesnt sound normal that its only happening after its been on instead of being immediately after i power on. The bias is still on its factory setting with the original tubes. Possible tube failure? resistor failure? This is a my first Tube amp and im a Tube Noob for sure. I know they can go at any time but yeah. Thanks

Last edited:

trendkilllx

Established Member
tube amp

check to make sure tubes are all the way in the sockets. I have had a bad 6l6 but power was low all the time so may not be the tubes. Sounds like you already checked but make sure it is not the guitar or guitar cable. Also a dirty volume can do this but thinking your amp is probably kind of new. Thinking of getting a 6505+, currently using a older high gain crate 3500.

cobracide

Established Member