Using water in intercooler?

Posi

Had a blast.
Established Member
Yes if it's from the ice that just melted inside of the IC resevoir. Other than that no because you're taking a chance of it freezing with it by itself.

Sperm Rocket

Established Member
I don't understand what you mean. Sorry, I'm just learning. Id only be using it spring, summer, fall.

I was just wondering if it'd lower the temp better than coolant.

s|ck

Established Member
Yes, straight distilled water will lower your temps better than coolant.

WhiTriCobra

PDP
Established Member
use distilled water and 2 bottles of water wetter or RP ice in it. That's what I'm doing once it gets warmer. I do the same to my Cobra.

Dr. Matt

Dr. Matt
Established Member
If you follow the directions above it will make a significant difference in IAT2's, = more power. I do it every summer too.

TORQJNKY

I don't understand what you mean. Sorry, I'm just learning. Id only be using it spring, summer, fall.

I was just wondering if it'd lower the temp better than coolant.

I think what POSI was trying to say is, straight distilled water has better cooling properties than 50/50 antifreeze and you will see better IAT2's and power. Just make sure you add antifreeze during the winter months, if it freezes where you live, or you will end up with a cracked intercooler from the water freezing (expanding) in the intercooler.

Sperm Rocket

Established Member
Awesome ill do that.

I can't view any pics or links because I'm using my phone. Ill look later on my computer.

What are IAT2's? Sorry, I'm kinda slow lol.

Should I run water in the engine too? I have a 185* t-stat.
I want this thing to perform is best reliably.

And yea ill keep tabs on it. I live in michigan and I winterize my jet ski so ill remember to "winterize" my truck ha.

Dr. Matt

Dr. Matt
Established Member