Was bound to happen

f8lmach

Occasional SVT Poster
Established Member
Hey guys I'm sure this has been answered many times, however search has owned me once again:loser:. So here goes, my clutch is slipping horribly can barely drive it (she's officially off driving duty until I drive it to the shop to change the clutch out). Question is, would the SPEC stage one Clutch be fine for my car? And what is the difference between the 10 spline and the 26 spline? Here's a link to what I was looking at: Spec 99-04 Cobra/Mach-1 Clutch Kit (Stage 1) 26 Spline [SF871T] : Lethal Performance, Performance parts for Ford Mustangs would just like some opinions and answers lol

thanks in advance :beer:

Epikmach

Established Member
The spec stage 1 should work fine, but I have no personal experience with their products. I have centerforce dual friction in my Mach & my notch, & they work great. Nice pedal feel, & they grip nicely. My buddy even has 1 in his 450rwhp 03 Cobra, & it works great in that car as well. You need the 10 spline version of whatever clutch you get, because the 26 spline version is for an upgraded 26 spline input shaft.

The worst thing about your situation is, the trans cannot be removed with the Mac LT's in place. Been there, done that...

Good luck.:beer:

Last edited:

gamatt

Whine Connoisseur
Established Member
The spec stage 1 should wor fine, but I have no personal experience with their products. I have centerforce dual friction in my Mach & my notch, & they work great. Nice pedal feel, & they grip nicely. You need the 10 spline version of whatever clutch you get, because the 26 spline version is for an upgraded 26 spline input shaft.

The worst thing about your situation is, the trans cannot be removed with the Mac LT's in place...

+1 on the Centerforce, I had a lower model, the Centerforce I on my 5.0. Smoothest, easiest clutch effort I've driven in a Mustang and according to their tech line it can do low 400's in HP.

CiriloDOHC

Established Member