When is a car good enough for a show?

65x2

Resident Hippie
Established Member
I've taken my cobra to shows, but never my Fairlane. Its a clean car, but the paint is no where near 100%. It has trash and dry spray etc. Its all one color and looks great from 10 ft. But up close, you can tell the age of the resto.
People pull up at stop lights all the time and compliment it, but I've never put it in a show as I don't think it looks nice enough. But I paint for a living, so I'm picky when it comes to paint and bodywork. What one person may look at as spotless, I don't see it that way.

I keep talking myself out of painting the fairlane as I have too many projects all ready. If I'm at a show, I always park where the onlookers park. Its not a show car.

So what's SVTPs take on it? How nice does it have to be before you'd take your car to a show?

Mulldune

Established Member
To me it wouldn't matter , if its a judged show , I avoid them , just take it to a cuise in and have fun man , those are the best imo

edit : I love Fairlanes , pic plz? Iused to have a '67 500 , loved it

KingJacobo

GM Fanboy Gone Darkside
Established Member
My 66 Bonneville has amateur bodywork (my doing, first resto) and a maaco paint job. My teenage self couldn't afford a 5k job, and I wanres to do all th3 bodywork myself even if it wasn't perfect. I keep her waxed and pristine all the time. Every single person says the car is in amqzing shape, and onky 1 guy has ever even noticed flaws in the bodywork enough to say anything. I take her to all the non judged shows I can, everyone loves old cars!

Be proud of what you have, even a ragged out original with rust has a certain uniqueness as long as its not a POS and from the right era. Wash, wax, vacuum and pokish interior, go to the show and CRUISE.

ElscottHavoc

It's all your fault.
Established Member