• Welcome to SVTPerformance!
ATTENTION!
You may experience intermittent issues while accessing the site over the next 60-90 minutes, as we perform maintenance and upgrades.

Who is into building PC's/Gaming rigs?

Discussion in 'Pics and Videos Buffet' started by Intervention302, Nov 7, 2014.

  1. Jmurrz

    Jmurrz Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    828
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Not offended at all, no worries. I just wanted to provide my personal input. It seems like in the past intel CPU's did not need the delid, but with the Kabby Lake 7700k it does for sure. Even stock I was hitting mid 80's sometimes not even overclocking.

    Also the delid was not that bad on a 7700k. It is nearly impossible to mess up as long as you take your time. I did mine with a razor blade, but if you wanted to be extra safe, you could buy a delid tool or send it out to be professionally done. I saw nearly 30*c drops from the delid all else the same. It is not my chip that is bad either. I know this because after I installed the X62 I overclocked to 5.2GHZ at 1.39v stable. I did not see temps over 82*C through a full test in AIDA64.


    Sent from my iPhone using the svtperformance.com mobile app
     
  2. mr2cam

    mr2cam Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    6,201
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    I have now delided 3 cpus, my 6700k saw the biggest gains in temp, before the delid I could only hit 4.7ghz at 1.33volts, max temp was 85c on the hottest core. After delid I hit 4.9ghz at 1.41 and hottest core after 2 hour stress test was 70c, most defiantly worth it and it wasn't that scary at all, used the rockitcool delid and relid kit.
     
    Jmurrz likes this.
  3. Kiohtee

    Kiohtee Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    9,363
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    You fellas have stones of epic proportions to attempt de-lids on your own. Like seriously.
     
  4. Jmurrz

    Jmurrz Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    828
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Location:
    North Carolina
    It is not that bad. I am sure some CPU's can be scary but I felt 100% comfortable doing my 7700k. If you aim the razor straight in and no funky angles it would be hard to mess it up. Super worth it, and I would feel 100% comfortable doing it again. I know some people would rather use a kit, but I think it is probably safer to cut the adhesive than to try to force them apart like the kits do.
     
  5. mr2cam

    mr2cam Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    6,201
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    It's not bad at all, especially with this kit..

     
  6. SVTFastBack

    SVTFastBack Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    632
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    A Basement
    Haven't messed with an 6700 personally but 1.33v seems like a bit just to hit 4.7, currently i'm at 1.26v at 4.8 and I can safely go up to 5ghz at 1.36v on this 4790k i'm taking out tomorrow. Are you doing that on air with manually setting it up or do you use like XMP or something? I messed around with new BIO configurations and let the MOBO take control to see what it'd do to ramp it up and I believe it was 4.8 at 1.28v and once I swapped back to full manual I got 4.8 to come at 1.26v and around 5c less over 2.5hr stress tests.
     
  7. mr2cam

    mr2cam Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    6,201
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    4.7 at 1.33 is actually a decent overclocker for a 6700k, most people can only hit 4.5-4.6 at 1.35. I had a 4790k and was able to hit 4.7 at 1.29 but 4.8 couldn't be done even at 1.35, of course it wasn't delidded either. My 6700k is being cooled by an H100, using multiplier in the bios, no xmp.
     
  8. Kiohtee

    Kiohtee Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    9,363
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    That's the same kit that I poured a ton of research into before deciding on letting Silicon Lottery handle mine. In the end, I just couldn't nut up enough to try de-lidding my 7700K. More so because I already had $2,500+ into it, so why not let a pro do this at $75 more? Lol
     
  9. mr2cam

    mr2cam Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    6,201
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    I actually had a couple of i3's that I practiced on before I stepped up to my 6700k, it really helped, now that I have done 3, I feel 100% confident in delidding any cpu
     
  10. Kiohtee

    Kiohtee Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    9,363
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    That's actually a brilliant way to practice. Not sure it's worth me trying to find some cheap i3/i5 now though. I'm hoping to never have to de-lid again.
     
  11. Gringo185

    Gringo185 2nd Civ Div Established Member

    Messages:
    4,857
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    Does this monitor exist?

    27"
    21:9
    G-Sync

    I think 34" is a little too large (and expensive) for what I need. But I can't seem to find any 27", 21:9 monitors with G-Sync.

    Also, the 34" monitors are curved and the 27" don't seem to be. It is just not necessary at the smaller size?
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2017
  12. Kiohtee

    Kiohtee Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    9,363
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    As far as I know a monitor with those specs does not exist at this time.

    And FML! I just created a list on PCPP with the parts I want to upgrade in my current rig, and it's more than what I currently have in the damn thing ($3,415.78)! And I'm only upgrading the GPU, PSU, case and adding 16GB more RAM (because why not)! Doesn't help that the monitors I want equal to $1,800 though...
     
  13. busta

    busta REDRCKT Established Member

    Messages:
    4,705
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    My rig has been sitting in parts for a while... I've been debating on what to do to upgrade it while keeping my money tight.

    It has an Intel i7-2600K CPU overclocked to 4 Ghz on water, a GTX 980Ti and a couple of SSD's in RAID 0. The motherboard is a cheapie ASUS. I've been thinking about upgrading to a newer Intel CPU and a better mobo, I only game in 1080p I could care less about higher resolutions. What do you guys think is the best bang for the buck?
     
  14. Kiohtee

    Kiohtee Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    9,363
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    An i5-7500 and whatever H270 motherboard that appeals to you would suffice. You could technically get away with an i5-6500 and an H170 motherboard, but the price difference is negligible, so might as well just get the newest and best.
     
    busta likes this.
  15. bullitt2735

    bullitt2735 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    678
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    Portland OR
    just upgraded from a a 970 to a 1080ti for my gaming rig
     

    Attached Files:

  16. helloWorld

    helloWorld Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    920
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    Quite the upgrade!
     
  17. Kiohtee

    Kiohtee Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    9,363
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    For real! I've been debating on selling both of my 1070s for $400-500 apiece (thanks mining!) and picking up a 1080 Ti myself.
     
  18. helloWorld

    helloWorld Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    920
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    I was going to make a joke, but I'm quite sure it is an exaggeration. He is literally probably getting double the frame rate going from a 970 to a 1080ti :D
     
  19. Jmurrz

    Jmurrz Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    828
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Very nice! I just upgraded from a 1060 to the 1080ti. I can't believe the difference.


    Sent from my iPhone using the svtperformance.com mobile app
     
  20. Gringo185

    Gringo185 2nd Civ Div Established Member

    Messages:
    4,857
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    I don't have the budget for a 1080 Ti but going from my HD 7950 to a 1070 is going to be a massive upgrade in and of itself.
     

Share This Page