Who is into building PC's/Gaming rigs?

Jmurrz

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2013
Messages
828
Location
North Carolina
Was just saying for people thinking about doing that is if it runs fine and you can hit your numbers/voltage/temp you're safer and better off not risking your CPU for the minimal benefits you gain. Deliding is scary as sh*t trying to go for like 5c lower across the entire heat benching spread, most of the time and a lot of people that I talked with had the same thoughts, if you have to go that far as to risk your CPU then its probably a chip that came out of a bad batch and will just run hotter then average anyways. I would tho, delid if I was running on air but most people have even the basic H55's for cooling or something similar. I just see the need for the process not really necessary for people that are fresh starting into the OC world or have little knowledge. Didn't mean to offend you, I was just sayin that most people run Intel chips and they don't all need it, i've done 2 delids but it was just for benching on an i5 and i7 and it wasn't heat related and i've only ran across maybe one Intel chip that needed something like that.

Not offended at all, no worries. I just wanted to provide my personal input. It seems like in the past intel CPU's did not need the delid, but with the Kabby Lake 7700k it does for sure. Even stock I was hitting mid 80's sometimes not even overclocking.

Also the delid was not that bad on a 7700k. It is nearly impossible to mess up as long as you take your time. I did mine with a razor blade, but if you wanted to be extra safe, you could buy a delid tool or send it out to be professionally done. I saw nearly 30*c drops from the delid all else the same. It is not my chip that is bad either. I know this because after I installed the X62 I overclocked to 5.2GHZ at 1.39v stable. I did not see temps over 82*C through a full test in AIDA64.


Sent from my iPhone using the svtperformance.com mobile app
 

mr2cam

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
6,201
Location
WA
I have now delided 3 cpus, my 6700k saw the biggest gains in temp, before the delid I could only hit 4.7ghz at 1.33volts, max temp was 85c on the hottest core. After delid I hit 4.9ghz at 1.41 and hottest core after 2 hour stress test was 70c, most defiantly worth it and it wasn't that scary at all, used the rockitcool delid and relid kit.
 

Kiohtee

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
9,363
Location
NC
You fellas have stones of epic proportions to attempt de-lids on your own. Like seriously.
 

Jmurrz

Active Member
Established Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2013
Messages
828
Location
North Carolina
You fellas have stones of epic proportions to attempt de-lids on your own. Like seriously.

It is not that bad. I am sure some CPU's can be scary but I felt 100% comfortable doing my 7700k. If you aim the razor straight in and no funky angles it would be hard to mess it up. Super worth it, and I would feel 100% comfortable doing it again. I know some people would rather use a kit, but I think it is probably safer to cut the adhesive than to try to force them apart like the kits do.
 

SVTFastBack

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2009
Messages
637
Location
A Basement
I have now delided 3 cpus, my 6700k saw the biggest gains in temp, before the delid I could only hit 4.7ghz at 1.33volts, max temp was 85c on the hottest core. After delid I hit 4.9ghz at 1.41 and hottest core after 2 hour stress test was 70c, most defiantly worth it and it wasn't that scary at all, used the rockitcool delid and relid kit.

Haven't messed with an 6700 personally but 1.33v seems like a bit just to hit 4.7, currently i'm at 1.26v at 4.8 and I can safely go up to 5ghz at 1.36v on this 4790k i'm taking out tomorrow. Are you doing that on air with manually setting it up or do you use like XMP or something? I messed around with new BIO configurations and let the MOBO take control to see what it'd do to ramp it up and I believe it was 4.8 at 1.28v and once I swapped back to full manual I got 4.8 to come at 1.26v and around 5c less over 2.5hr stress tests.
 

mr2cam

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
6,201
Location
WA
Haven't messed with an 6700 personally but 1.33v seems like a bit just to hit 4.7, currently i'm at 1.26v at 4.8 and I can safely go up to 5ghz at 1.36v on this 4790k i'm taking out tomorrow. Are you doing that on air with manually setting it up or do you use like XMP or something? I messed around with new BIO configurations and let the MOBO take control to see what it'd do to ramp it up and I believe it was 4.8 at 1.28v and once I swapped back to full manual I got 4.8 to come at 1.26v and around 5c less over 2.5hr stress tests.

4.7 at 1.33 is actually a decent overclocker for a 6700k, most people can only hit 4.5-4.6 at 1.35. I had a 4790k and was able to hit 4.7 at 1.29 but 4.8 couldn't be done even at 1.35, of course it wasn't delidded either. My 6700k is being cooled by an H100, using multiplier in the bios, no xmp.
 

Kiohtee

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
9,363
Location
NC
It's not bad at all, especially with this kit..


That's the same kit that I poured a ton of research into before deciding on letting Silicon Lottery handle mine. In the end, I just couldn't nut up enough to try de-lidding my 7700K. More so because I already had $2,500+ into it, so why not let a pro do this at $75 more? Lol
 

mr2cam

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
6,201
Location
WA
That's the same kit that I poured a ton of research into before deciding on letting Silicon Lottery handle mine. In the end, I just couldn't nut up enough to try de-lidding my 7700K. More so because I already had $2,500+ into it, so why not let a pro do this at $75 more? Lol

I actually had a couple of i3's that I practiced on before I stepped up to my 6700k, it really helped, now that I have done 3, I feel 100% confident in delidding any cpu
 

Kiohtee

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
9,363
Location
NC
I actually had a couple of i3's that I practiced on before I stepped up to my 6700k, it really helped, now that I have done 3, I feel 100% confident in delidding any cpu

That's actually a brilliant way to practice. Not sure it's worth me trying to find some cheap i3/i5 now though. I'm hoping to never have to de-lid again.
 

Gringo185

2nd Civ Div
Established Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
4,857
Location
Florida
Does this monitor exist?

27"
21:9
G-Sync

I think 34" is a little too large (and expensive) for what I need. But I can't seem to find any 27", 21:9 monitors with G-Sync.

Also, the 34" monitors are curved and the 27" don't seem to be. It is just not necessary at the smaller size?
 
Last edited:

Kiohtee

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
9,363
Location
NC
As far as I know a monitor with those specs does not exist at this time.

And FML! I just created a list on PCPP with the parts I want to upgrade in my current rig, and it's more than what I currently have in the damn thing ($3,415.78)! And I'm only upgrading the GPU, PSU, case and adding 16GB more RAM (because why not)! Doesn't help that the monitors I want equal to $1,800 though...
 

busta

REDRCKT
Established Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
4,705
Location
PA
My rig has been sitting in parts for a while... I've been debating on what to do to upgrade it while keeping my money tight.

It has an Intel i7-2600K CPU overclocked to 4 Ghz on water, a GTX 980Ti and a couple of SSD's in RAID 0. The motherboard is a cheapie ASUS. I've been thinking about upgrading to a newer Intel CPU and a better mobo, I only game in 1080p I could care less about higher resolutions. What do you guys think is the best bang for the buck?
 

Kiohtee

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
9,363
Location
NC
An i5-7500 and whatever H270 motherboard that appeals to you would suffice. You could technically get away with an i5-6500 and an H170 motherboard, but the price difference is negligible, so might as well just get the newest and best.
 

bullitt2735

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Messages
680
Location
Portland OR
just upgraded from a a 970 to a 1080ti for my gaming rig
 

Attachments

  • resize.jpg
    resize.jpg
    324 KB · Views: 99

helloWorld

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2012
Messages
935
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska
I was going to make a joke, but I'm quite sure it is an exaggeration. He is literally probably getting double the frame rate going from a 970 to a 1080ti :D
 

Gringo185

2nd Civ Div
Established Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
4,857
Location
Florida
I don't have the budget for a 1080 Ti but going from my HD 7950 to a 1070 is going to be a massive upgrade in and of itself.
 

Users who are viewing this thread



Top