Why are GT500 Rods Weaker? What is with all of the BS Posting?

WILDTHANG

In The Rear View Mirror
Established Member
I keep reading in posts in various threads where people state that "the rods are weak", "motors have had rod failures", "they put the week L-rods in these motors", "Ford made the motors weaker to prevent modding", one guy stated "he will upgrade to H-Beam rods in th future", "will not put on blower pulley because of rod failure fear" and my favorite is the Terminator guys down playing these motors stating Ford cut corners from the GT 5.4 H-Beam motor.

OK here is what I see:

4340 Forged Steel I-Beam Cracked Cap Rods. I'm not a rocket scientist, but doesn't that mean that the rod is forged as on piece with the molecular structure of the steel lined up and then the cap is seperated. This process makes for a stronger part.

Manley 4340 I-beam Rods are rated for 750hp to 8500rpms. And they cost $1315

Manley 4340 H-beam Rods (like the ones found in 03-04 Cobras) are rated for 700hp to 8000rpms. And they cost $579

How did Ford cut corners when the rods cost twice as much? Am I missing Something?

Straight from Manley

Last edited:

ON D BIT

Finish First
Established Member
i am not sure about the exact rods, but many have been saying cracked forged i beams. they are not as strong as the 03/04 mustang svt rods. they are stronger than the lightning rods.
these rods were holding up until 650 rwhp in thousands of test run by ford. will they last forever at 638rwhp? i would say no. keep at 600 or below for a long life without changing rods.

as for the ford not building these cars to mod, ford found out the hard way with the mustang svt's and lightnings. people are not honest. people will mod the hell out of these cars then when things break they expect ford to pay for it.:bash: i believe thats fraud. ford is protecting itself as best as possible.

WILDTHANG

In The Rear View Mirror
Established Member
I just am curious.

SNAKEMAN101 said: