Yellow vs. green coolant - radiator life

LizardMan

Established Member
While at APEX in Santa Clara getting my base-line dyno numbers the tech told me to "Get rid of that yellow coolant, and replace it with the old style green stuff." He said the yellow stuff will plug up the radiator/heater core.

I haven't heard any complaints about the yellow coolant, just warnings to not mix it with orange or green coolant.

CobraBob

Authorized Vendor
Established Member
Premium Member
Single Barrel Sirs
I think that is a bunch of bull sh**, but I'm not an expert. If anything, it was always my understanding that the gold (yellow) coolant was superior to the green. If you will notice, the majority of Cobras here have the gold coolant. I've yet to hear of a coolant related issue.

Z-COBRA

Bling & Zing
Established Member
The major ingredient in all Ant-Freeze is Ethylene Glycol, and additives are pretty much all the same in all major brands. The enviromentally friendly so called stuff is a Propylene Glycol based formula.Do you think Ford
GM or others produce their own?? they are all probably produced by Dupont My .02 worth.

Last edited:

Dans03C

Established Member
Aviod apex

That place has changed ownership three times that i know of. I ve had problems wit that shop in the past, like catching them joy riding my car as well as not standing by their word which ended up costing me $.

03 svtvenom

Repent!!!
Established Member
Dans03C said:
That place has changed ownership three times that i know of. I ve had problems wit that shop in the past, like catching them joy riding my car as well as not standing by their word which ended up costing me $.

JOY RIDING= :cuss: :fm: :mj: :bash:

Top_Fuel

Person of Interest
Established Member
CobraBob said:
I think that is a bunch of bull sh**.