03 cobra/ dot matrix tinting

dpancer

Established Member
After some researching it seems most people use a vinyl strip to cover the dot matrix. I just didnt want to use that. I decided to use plasti dip instead since I have lots of experience with it.

The verdict is: It works perfectly! it covers the dot matrix completely and looks 110% like stock. You need to mask off the whole car carefully first, and it takes some time to get enough layers of dip in so you cant see any patches of light shine thought. I put about 8-10 layers on. One dip can should do the trick, all though I used an actual earlex paint sprayer.

Make sure the car is tinted first. You should run the tint about 1 cm below the last row of the dot matrix. One other tip is to run one single strip of 3m masking tape right on top of the most upper defrost line to help hide the seem (from the inside). Use a brand new sharp blade to cut the dip along the edge of the masking tape. Do not even try to spray and peel/rip the tape off without cutting. It will peel the dip. It does not even matter if you dont cut the line of dip perfectly straight, which is really hard to do because of the angle and position you are in. From outside the line were the tint stops is the line that you will see. So if your tint is cut in a nice straight line along the glass your all good!

The tint was not damaged in any way or from from the thinners in the dip.

Overall, its a bit of work and will probably come out only a little better, darker, with a better matrix-dot-coverage than black vinyl. But if your a perfectionist, and have the time to do it. Give it a shot!

Before:

1-1_zpse6560593.jpg
3_zps590bf0c0.jpg
6_zpsc41141fe.jpg
7_zps15c23be3.jpg

Attachments

• 4_zps9d7257ef.jpg
    4_zps9d7257ef.jpg
    94.7 KB · Views: 389
Last edited:

dpancer

Established Member
8_zps9f99bf21.jpg
9_zpsaa7cc75b.jpg

After:

10_zps32c8617e.jpg