Am I capable of replacing my clutch?

Juiced-03

Established Member
Ok, my Cobra needs a new throw out bearing....BAD! I am having a hard time finding a person I trust with the car right now. Ford wanted $800 just for labor :kaboom:

So I figured since the TOB needs to be replaced, I'll replace the clutch at the same time. I have a CF DF clutch and TOB sitting in my car waiting for install. So today I just got done installing my ported blower and though I have no mechanical experience, a thought of replacing my own clutch crossed my mind. I have never changed a blower before today, nor have I ever replaced my brakes (taking off a caliper or rotor) before this car. I change exhausts all the time and have no problem swapping pullies. This is my 4th Mustang I have owned and though I am only a backyard mechanic, I question my ability to do the clutch. I have a good variety of tools, but no air tools. Do you guys think the clutch is something I could do myself? What is involved? Any special tools needed? I am the type of person that enjoys learning on my own and I am not afraid to make a mistake.

What do you guys think?

99Blkcobravert

Established Member
Just Do It!

Bryan,
This is an excellent time to learn how to change the clutch. Make sure the flywheel is still in good shape before you slip the CF setup in. :rockon:

maddrabitt

Established Member
i think the hardest part is working on your back. that and the top tranny bolts are kind of a pain, other than that its not too bad

vipergts281

Established Member
Good question as I always wonder this as well. I am capable of doing some things on my car and the thought of replacing my clutch has crossed my mind as well.....mainly because I can't see paying someone that much to do the job.

I watched my friend for alittle bit when he was changing his. He is very good with cars. Didn't look to easy....the part I saw was when he had about 8 extensions......I assume to get the top transmission bolts out.

Emil