Any Service Advisors in here?

B0B

Established Member
I've been working for BMW for almost 7 years. Right now I'm the internal service advisor, "Reconditioning Manager," at all of our dealerships. I facilitate and execute the processes to bring cars to spec to be sold. I have 6 techs and the detail shop, and deal with the sales managers for three dealerships directly. I don't hire or fire people, but I have a lot of pull within the company and the position I hold is very important. I feel that my stature with the dealership is among the level of management, higher up than a service advisor, yet I don't have the official manager title. I make good money, in the 70k range, and I'm good at what I do and for the most part like my job.

My boss (the service and parts director) has been trying to get me to write service for him for years. I have always said no, because I don't want to face customers all day. ESPECIALLY BMW customers. He said I need to do customer facing service writing for a while before he will make me the service manager at one of the dealerships. The position for service manager has opened up a few times, and my name has been brought up every time but gets shot down because I haven't put in my time with customers.