Best Place to Sell an Old Car (Ford Content)

Don't Care
Established Member
Malt Liquor Mafia
An acquaintance of ours husband passed away last year. He was a diehard Ford guy and his wife is now ready to part ways his toys. They haven't ran in 6-9 months and I told my friend I would help get them running and give her advice on where to sell them and maybe even write up a description of them for her to post.

The cars are a '55 Crown Victoria which I think is stock. The other one which was his prized possession is a 1961 Starliner coupe. Supposedly it has a stroked BB (She thinks it's 515?) with a 4-spd. She showed me pictures, the car was mint.

I'm going to pull the plugs, charge the batteries, and try and bump them over to get some oil pressure before I try and start them. Is there any other precautions I should take? Like I said they were running right up until he died. He was a mechanic by trade so I hoping they don't need much to get going.

Now for selling them I'm thinking Hemmings or Ebay but I'm not real up what's the best place for these. She wants to move them because as I told her, they're just going to turn to crap the longer they sit. BAT came to mind but she isn't tech savvy enough to be the active and informed seller the BAT crowd seems to attract.

Zemedici

Established Member
Bring a trailer over eBay, i know she isn’t savvy, but to get decent money, someone is going to have to be. Can’t post up a car like that and go ‘what you see is what you get’ ya know?

Would you liaison for her?

Otherwise i would call local spots and see if someone would be interested in coming to pick them up, like Gas Monkey did in the TV show

Fastback

Baker
Established Member
Premium Member
My gramps has a 56' Crown Vic with the 292 Y block. Decently rare, top of the line Fairlane. Believe it or not I still find quite a bit on Craigslist.

Don't Care
Established Member
Malt Liquor Mafia