• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

For those that have done a T56 Magnum - I'm getting conflicting info

Discussion in 'Driveline' started by MalcolmV8, Jan 12, 2015.

  1. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,276
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Hey Guys,

    Trying to get a T56 Magnum with the same gear ratios as the stock tranny (2.66 first gear etc.). So I did some searching on this forum and got some info then started making calls. Getting conflicting info so now I'm confused, are there variations of this T56 Magnum out there?

    From the threads I read here on SVTP I need to shorten the driveshaft 1" and change the yolk on the end of the driveshaft as the T56 Magnum has a different output shaft spline. Also I'm able to reuse the stock T56 bell housing I have now.

    When I called Ford Racing to confirm part # (M7003M6266) before placing order they told me it will not work with the stock T56 bell housing and I need to get the quicktime bell housing part # 8080. They also said there's no need to change the yolk on the driveshaft as both the stock T56 and the Magnum have 31 spline output shaft. Simply shorten the driveshaft.

    So is this the right transmission? which info is correct?

    Thanks guys
    Malcolm
     
  2. cj428mach

    cj428mach Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    6,863
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    Kansas
    I see on lethals website they sell built t56's and they list the 31 spline tail shaft as an upgrade you can select for more money.
     
  3. SlowSVT

    SlowSVT Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    8,270
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  4. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,276
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    OK I just went and counted the splines on my stock transmission and it's 27. So the Ford Racing tech was definitely wrong on that. He was so confident he was right too. That makes me think he was wrong on the bell housing too.

    Thanks for the link on the yolk. So that's what I'd need to mate up the stock driveshaft with the 31 spline on the Magnum.
     
  5. SlowSVT

    SlowSVT Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    8,270
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Malcolm, According to Strange they claim there is an issue with the U1669 fitting in a Magnum but Tremec tells me it uses the same yoke as the C6. This was the nicest yoke I could find for the Magnum. If you buy it tell them it might have to be returned of it doesn't fit. If it does tell them to expect to sell 2.
     
  6. Woody6799

    Woody6799 Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    3,594
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I know nothing about this topic but I know the PO of my car installed a Magnum and an aluminum DS. The car is up on stands so if there is something I can slide under and grab for you just PM me.
     
  7. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,276
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Does Tremec sell a yolk that they recommend?

    Thanks man. Only thing that comes to mind is was the shifter hole in the body of the car notched at all? I saw one thread that said it was required but no one else seems to mention that.
     
  8. SlowSVT

    SlowSVT Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    8,270
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  9. MG0h3

    MG0h3 Well-Known Member Premium Member Established Member

    Messages:
    6,495
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Looks like they opened mine up a little bit but not much. Went at it with a hammer or prybar I think. Previous owner had the magnum installed.
     
  10. sleepermobile2

    sleepermobile2 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    466
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    I did the swap but mines an 01. I remember when I did mine there was a lot of info I got in here that was all wrong .... D&D will set you straight , the first time .
     
  11. Woody6799

    Woody6799 Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    3,594
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I just did my trans fluid 2-3 months ago and I didn't see anything that was notched or cut.
     
  12. sleepermobile2

    sleepermobile2 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    466
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    No holes in mine either.......
     
  13. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,276
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Is the shifter to far back or two far forward? Where did they have to open up the shifter hole?
     
  14. sleepermobile2

    sleepermobile2 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    466
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    I've unfortunately had mine in and out a lot . The clearance problem is the red cover and bolts that hold
    It down ...... Couple hits with a hammer fixes the issue. I can see how a guy might just hack away at it........
     
  15. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,276
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Oh OK I see. I looked at pics of the T56 Magnum and I see that large red base cover of the shifter. So that sits just a tad to high so you just lightly tap up the tunnel area for clearance and you're all good there?
     
  16. sleepermobile2

    sleepermobile2 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    466
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    Yes !!! The tranny will be easy to get in, it's simple you have nothing to worry about . The rxt will be a trick if your going that route
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2015
  17. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,276
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Thanks man. The RXT twin disk is already in there :) So hopefully it fits the same as it did with the stock T56.
     
  18. 04cobrawhine

    04cobrawhine Member Established Member

    Messages:
    567
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    Real quick...

    Stock bell housing works

    Need 31 spline yolk (i run a billet yold) and need to be shortened 1-1.5". I shortened mine 1.25"

    Floor board massaging is required with a BFH as well as some shifter hole trimming.

    Ovaling out the trans mount holes a little is also required.

    You are going to need to get a mechanical speedo block off plug. It doesn't come with the trans.
     
  19. MalcolmV8

    MalcolmV8 Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    7,276
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Could you elaborate on the transmission mounting holes that need ovaling out? Are these the transmission to bell housing holes? or what are we talking here?
     
  20. SlowSVT

    SlowSVT Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    8,270
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Where did you get the yoke from?

    The factory sensor did not fit my Magnum. You just blocked off the opening? Doesn't the speedo get signal from that?

    TremicT56Magnum5_zpsbf528434.jpg
     

Share This Page