GT500 > 04 SVT Cobra...why?

Lord Warlock

Established Member
I know many would interpret this question as either abused repeatedly on the site...or see the obvious hp figures and make your own guess.

Lately, I've had an urge to trade in my 04 cobra for a GT500, (2009 or 2010..doesn't matter) and its recent (as in now) trip to the ford mechanic shop to do a tranny replacement has got me wondering even more...considering the sales lot has 3 shelby gt500s in stock, including one vista blue and silver stripes which is probably the shade i'd pick from last year. Anyway I'm not trying to pick fights here, i'm trying to gain an understanding of why shelby owners like their GT500s as compared to the 03/04 cobras.

In my case, i've been driving a mustang with the older body style for about 6 years in a row, and i prefer the newer shape over the old. I've heard people say that the interior is better in the newer versions, more supportive etc - mine is just black inside...everywhere...(black/black) and has very little style to it, function yes, style no.
I've wanted to own a shelby since i was about 15, i'm now 48 and the dream isn't getting any closer today than it was two years ago, if i'm going to buy one, now is the time. I doubt my 04 cobra will ever be worth more than it is today-as it comes out of the shop with a new t56 transmission, so it may be time to trade it in. I'm not upside down in the car, i should be ahead by about 4-5k. I'll have to sell one of my other hobby cars to make the downpayment on the shelby, i rarely use the other car so it won't bother me that much, but it will only get me about another 5-10k to invest in the new car. If i can drop 10k on it, i think i can get the payments into the same range that i make on the 04 cobra, so it shouldn't hurt much financially to do it. Insurance won't be any more that i know of.