How hard is it to build a website?

weems

Mach Won
Established Member
I am a real estate agent on Hilton Head Island, SC and I am looking to get with the times and get a website up and going. It seems ungodly expensive to hire someone to do a website for you. How hard is it? Is it not something the average, somewhat tech savvy person can do? I don't need anything fancy, just something to get some web presence.

Torch10th

I make hits
Established Member
That really depends on what you're looking for. If you want a good website that allows people to contact you, has good form and layout etc. you can be looking at a decent bit of a learning curve. HTML, CSS, Java etc.

It's why it costs so much to have a good site built.

What I would recommend to somebody in your position is to have a company that specializes in simple business spaces to do it for you. Squarespace, GoDadday, 1and1 all will create and host your space for a relatively small fee.

If you're marketing primarily yourself and just want to give out a phone number/email address, I'd really recommend Sqaurespace. They're layouts are fairly slick and modern without being overly complicated to the droves of "not so tech savvy" people on the net today.

ElscottHavoc

It's all your fault.
Established Member
I suppose its all sort of relative, but downloading a custom php script for real estate sites is pretty easy and getting a WordPress theme is pretty easy too for your specific use foe someone with some experience. Taking an existing script and altering it or customizing it in ways that deal with altering the CSS or php could be challenging and figuring out hosting could be too. I'm sure others will be more than happy to help, but let me know if want me to walk you through WordPress, hosting, or any other custom php site templates.

If you have a decent understanding of computers, you can probably even figure out Wordpress.