how many on here are a machinist?

03whipedsnake

Established Member
just wondering, I am 18 and just got my first job at a machine shop in the cnc dept. there. I really enjoy the trade and I know there is allot to learn still. Im just curious to see who on here is one.

Jroc

Established Member
I are in the Tool and Die trade.

Been doing it for 5 1/2 years. I do manual machining though, as CNC isn't my nack. I'm one of those people who learns stuff really easily if it interests me, but if it doesn't I have a hard time picking it up. I could never retain G and M codes, and how to write sub-programs and all that other CNC stuff when I was in school.

Good luck with your career.

slick4_6

Established Member
I am. I got a 2 year Associates Degree in machining including CNC and CAD/CAM. I have been doing it for 7 years now. I enjoy it and learn something new everyday. I am the 2nd shift supervisor/2nd shift lead tech so I get to do something different everyday.

slick4_6

Established Member
I are in the Tool and Die trade.

Been doing it for 5 1/2 years. I do manual machining though, as CNC isn't my nack. I'm one of those people who learns stuff really easily if it interests me, but if it doesn't I have a hard time picking it up. I could never retain G and M codes, and how to write sub-programs and all that other CNC stuff when I was in school.

Good luck with your career.

I am just the opposite. I picked up quickly on the CNC side so that is where all my experience is at. You can make some money in tool and die if you are good. I prefer making an actual finished product where the tolerances are not so tight. +/-.005" is about as close as it usually gets for me.

Jroc

Established Member
I am the 2nd shift supervisor/2nd shift lead tech so I get to do something different everyday.

Me too. :beer: