Irs swap

quikcobra

Established Member
Yea man if we do this its pretty easy. I say get the gasket some say RTV. The Rear ends like Royal purple. I wouldnt run it in my engine but my trans and rear for sure.

jonv0305

Established Member
and thanks for the helpful hand, 2003DSGMACH1. ill definitely let you know since i've never done it before.

quikcobra

Established Member
Yea man. Ill send you a pm with my number. I just put the motor in, so its about time to drop the tank full of 3 year old gas. So i can drop it out with the IRS

thirtytwovalve

Steam Rollin 335's
Established Member
So since theres a good chance Im swapping in 01 Cobra IRS into my mach, how much time start to finish does it take? My Mach will already be on stands partially disassembled since I'm rebuilding the TR-3650 at the same time.

quikcobra

Established Member
Thirtytwovalve: I would say around 4 hours at the high side of it. I got a call from Jon tuesday evening that he was free wed, thurs, and fri to do the swap. So I had it out wed. night after about an hour of work. Now im waiting on Jon to reply.

quikcobra

Established Member
Here is an update from everyone who has followed this thread.

On 12/6/10 I sent Jonv0305 a pm, We agreed we would do the swap. My IRS with a fair share of upgrades, For his stock mach1 rear-end. Since both will need to be built to the MAX to handle the power level im looking forward to with the bullseye s380r. We figured by the end of that week we would do the swap.

A few days later he said he needed to swap the engine in his other car. So Figuring that takes a day or 2 if your messing around.a week or so later puts us around the 20th he was "busy". So another week puts us past X-max still nothing from him.