It's here, How-to for installation of Speedhut Gauges and SOS Pod with pics

webleedorange61

GO HORNS!!
Established Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
1,531
Location
michigan
For the small 12v wires:

Can I just splice the wires from both gauges together and then run a wire to the #37 and then ground the black wires the same way?

That should work.. We spliced 4 guage power wires together on my buddies evo and it works great!
 

Jomo1994z71

Can I get a KB WooWee!
Established Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
7,312
Location
DFW
Thank you! The parts you listed. Were those included in your kit or did you have to purchase them at an autoparts store? Great write up. You guys are giving me the confidence to try this myself.

All you have to do is buy 2 addafuse/addacircuit minis, a few minifuses like the ones described in the write-up, and the stuff to connect the wires...
 

03auto

New Member
Established Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
350
Location
tn
Yes, you cut in the dash itself...I grinded a little of the metal too, but it was a tight squeeze either way...and yes you can connect both white wires and both black wires from both gauges together and connect to the same power and ground point, as well as lighting...

Which side of the a-pillar do you cut on the dash? In the pic it looks like on the left side. But after test fitting it looks like the wires may end up coming out of the pods on the right side of the pillar.
 

03cobra#694

I Have LL’s Hammer
Super Moderator
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
53,698
Location
SW FL.
Which side of the a-pillar do you cut on the dash? In the pic it looks like on the left side. But after test fitting it looks like the wires may end up coming out of the pods on the right side of the pillar.

Left side,just enough to get the plug through.Then you can position the wires where you want.
 

03auto

New Member
Established Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
350
Location
tn
What kind of connectors are you all using to connect the 2 white and 2 black wires from each gauge. Being total of 4 each just seems like to many for a butt splice. Allso where are you mounting the small box that is on the small harness at?
 

03cobra#694

I Have LL’s Hammer
Super Moderator
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
53,698
Location
SW FL.
What kind of connectors are you all using to connect the 2 white and 2 black wires from each gauge. Being total of 4 each just seems like to many for a butt splice. Allso where are you mounting the small box that is on the small harness at?

Solder and shrink wrap.
I mounted the "small box" on the back of the guage.
 

03auto

New Member
Established Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
350
Location
tn
Where did you make your connections? In the pillar or down in the dash. Allso on the wires after you spliced them did you just run single wire out of the connection to the fuse panel?
 

ChaosTheory

Banned
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
66
Location
USA
Why are you guys cutting the dash, and why did you take the instrument panel surround out? I did this same install and didn't have to do any of that...
 

03cobra#694

I Have LL’s Hammer
Super Moderator
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
53,698
Location
SW FL.
Where did you make your connections? In the pillar or down in the dash. Allso on the wires after you spliced them did you just run single wire out of the connection to the fuse panel?

Under the dash and one connection for power and ground.
 

03auto

New Member
Established Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
350
Location
tn
Under the dash and one connection for power and ground.

Did you have to add to the length of the wires on the small harness so you could make the connection under the dash? Since you mounted the small box on the back of the gauge, seems like the wires would be to short to reach under the dash for the connection. Allso thanks for all of your help.
 

black 10th vert

Well-Known Member
Established Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2007
Messages
6,188
Location
MA
Why are you guys cutting the dash, and why did you take the instrument panel surround out? I did this same install and didn't have to do any of that...

Because it is WAY easier to remove the cluster bezel, and the headlight switch. Otherwise you need to remove the driver seat, and crawl under the dash. Personally, the extra 5 minutes to remove the trim bezel is way easier to me, than to try to crawl up from underneath. As for the cutting the dash... it is not required, but opening the area where you run the wires, makes it way easier to snake the plug connectors through. If you aren't using the plug in connectors, then it's not a problem at all to just run the wires.
 

03cobra#694

I Have LL’s Hammer
Super Moderator
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
53,698
Location
SW FL.
because it is way easier to remove the cluster bezel, and the headlight switch. Otherwise you need to remove the driver seat, and crawl under the dash. Personally, the extra 5 minutes to remove the trim bezel is way easier to me, than to try to crawl up from underneath. As for the cutting the dash... It is not required, but opening the area where you run the wires, makes it way easier to snake the plug connectors through. If you aren't using the plug in connectors, then it's not a problem at all to just run the wires.

+1
 

Users who are viewing this thread



Top