Lets just say..

runsonboost

Established Member
I am an engine builder. suppose i buy pistons from Brand X and install them without checking the specs on them. then one of them fails. whould i be at fault or the company that made the pistons? dicsuss.

cbr repsol

Established Member
With what is said i say you. When ever you buy something it has instructions on do's and dont's. I remember putting together a 351 w using keith black pistons. They require a larger top ring gap or the ring could butt in the bore and cause the top of the piston to seperate. But who follow directions now a days?

Root1022

100 Shot, 1 Kill
Established Member
I would say you would be at fault, but at the same time so would the company if its said to fit right into the specs they give. However if its a messed up piston that caused the issue then I would say company. Either way you should of checked them before installing them. Pistons aren't cheap.

GodStang

Established Member
If it is a defect in the material then the manufacture. Any other reason and it is yours.

prostkr

Established Member
Every piece should be weighed by the man assembling the engine. They should be weighed as parts then weighed as assembled unit before they even get close to the engine block.

cbr repsol

Established Member
for arguements sake we'll say that 1 piston was 360 grams while the other 7 were 400. and i put the engine together without weighing them.
You sound like your doing one of two things.

#1 u built someone a motor a f'ed up

#2 Someone built u a motor and F'ed up ,and your trying to get proof they didnt do things right . Possibly without naming any names before u jump to conclusion?

When parts are balanced they should be within 1 gram + or - . On a street motor like a honda civic ect. it wont really matter.

runsonboost

Established Member