Pointers on 315 Nittos? 2nd time at the track.

ProjectVenom

Established Member
Hey guys, I just bought a set of 315's Drag Radial Nittos. I took it down to the track not too long ago, and my best 60ft was a 1.90 ish and 8.0 at 91mph 1/8 mile. My best on street tires was a hair away from a 1.90 60ft? I'm very new to the racing scene, just wondering if anybody has some pointer on how to get these things to hook? and what's the best possible time I can do with these tires? running an 8.0 the 1/8 mile, what am I seeing at the 1/4 mile? Thanks guys! :beer:

Mod's on my Cobra at that time, were 2.8 pulley with Borla Stingers only, and LFP intercooler. everything else is stock... nothing else... I just installed a JLT ramn air and it's wonderful! :rockon:

below is the 8.0 run. Im at the left racing a full bolt-on whipple cobra who ran a 7.2 ish at 100+... im at the second run... not first.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9munK4DOSc"]YouTube - FRAAAANKY[/ame]

IMG_0281.jpg

Last edited:

broke7

Stock IRS Guru
Established Member
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KXRFlj77DIA"]YouTube - AKRP 1040[/ame]

This is a textbook 17" DR launch...1.64 60ft. I left at about 1800rpm if I recall, slip/roll into throttle

OrangeMach23

BOOSTIDMACH
Established Member
The Nitto Drag Radial is not the best hooking drag radial. Mine always seemed to hook better on the wet streets than at the track. I tried lower air pressure, bigger burnouts, smaller burnouts and nothing seemed to ever help them to hook better. The best I ever saw on my old set was around 1.8 and there are plenty of people that like them but the Mickey Thompsons and BFG Drag Radials are much better. I am still waiting to hear more feedback on the TOYO TQ's.

ProjectVenom

Established Member