Thick white smoke and strong gas smell???

Moose04

Established Member
I changed the fuel filter the other day on my 04 Cobra. I ran the car then pulled the fuel pump fuse and let the car die to relieve some of the fuel pressure. When I got done I cycled the key a few times to build some pressure in the lines. When I started the car there was thick white smoke coming from the exhaust and had a real strong raw gas smell. The service engine light came on, too. It never ran hot. I cut the car off and unhooked the battery for a few minutes. When I hooked it back up the car ran fine. Anybody have a clue why it done this? I'm thinking I cycled the key to many times between off and on and it built to much pressure in the lines causing it to run really rich. Everybody says that it's a black smoke if running rich, though. Did this hurt the engine????

Bdubbs

u even lift bro?
Established Member
Premium Member
Subbing. I've never done those procedures before changing a fuel filter. I just let the car sit over night and do it the next day.

hotcobra03

Established Member
I think pulling fuse and run car caused sel

where you live. ..did it freeze. .

White smoke could be a few things

TRBO VNM

Did you put the fuel filter in the correct direction? Not that it would cause anything, but curious.

And yeah, engine light is because of running it without the fuel pump fuse. Probably FPDM code, P1233 I think it is

Moose04

Established Member
I think pulling fuse and run car caused sel

where you live. ..did it freeze. .

White smoke could be a few things

It was cold, but didn't freeze. Is it possible I cycled the key to many times making it run really rich. It's was really thick smoke and was still in the tips after shutting the car off. It wasn't a mist. The car ran fine after I disconnected the battery then hooked it back up. The service engine light didn't come on after that either.

Moose04

Established Member