Thinking about the air force

trc46

Layer of Pipe
Established Member
Well my dad was enlisted from 86-93 in the army and was a tank mechanic. I was looking at the air force, and possibly being a jet fighter mechanic. Can anyone that was or is air force what some good jobs are? I'm interested in mechanics, technology, etc

blsticms1

Established Member
usaf

i spent 4 yrs in af . it was the best time of my life . if i knew then what i do now i would have stayed . i was a cop .

markw351

Established Member
Well, they are downsiziing but if your looking into aircraft maintenance(mx) you still got a shot. That and security forces. As far as mx goes, there's a number of options. There's flightline mx and then there's your backshop jobs that are "off equipment" meaning usually parts repair vs actual removal/replacement of parts on the aircraft. No guarantee you'd get "fighters" though. Just talk to your local recruiter and tell them you want aircraft maintenance and see what they can do. But keep in mind AF recruiters CANNOT guarantee jobs like Army recruiters can, that doesn't happen until MEPS. You would have to go in open mechanical and may get to give a list of jobs you would like to do and hope the job has an opening. The thing is, they get to be very picky now on who they take and they fill the Air Forces needs first. This info is what i got from a recruiter and from being in aircraft mx for 19 years 11 months and 5 days. Not that i am counting down my 20 or anything. I was Hydraulics on cargo planes and refuelers and loved it. although that was just my specialty and you end up learning to do a number of tasks outside your AFSC. Good luck.

Last edited:

LOL WUT

+65,000
Established Member
I know several people in all branches of the military and not a single one tells me they regret the decision. Think long and serious about it though as it is obviously a huge step to take.